top of page

Tasty Tuesdays #1 Fry Alternative

Welcome to the first edition of Tasty Tuesdays!

So, what are Tasty Tuesdays, you ask? Well, I know I am not the only author with a more sedentary lifestyle who is looking for ways to stay healthy. Many of us have children we are busy with, book releases, plus a day job, and maintaining our health is hard. So, I thought a day to share the little successes i find in my own health journey could help others like me too!

This very first Tasty Tuesday is all about the comfort food, french fries. Now, don;t tell me you don't love them and wish they had zero fat and calories in them. Whether they are fried at home or bought from the McDonald's down the street, they are hard to give up. Yet, even with claims that they are cooked in a healthier fat now, they are still very unhealthy. So, could there possibly be anything better for you that you want to pop in your mouth all day the same way? I have found that there is. I know you are going to think I am crazy, but just hear me out.

So, my alternative is not sweet potato fries, it is not cauliflower, or squash, or anything of the like. I am calling BS on these because they lack the crispiness and saltiness that we love about french fries. But what if I told you there IS a vegetable that you can make very similar? The answer is.........Asparagus.

Yes, you heard me right. I actually discovered this by accident one day, but I literally snack on these just the same way as fries. I can make them both salty and crispy.

So, how do you achieve this? It still involves a little frying, but, very little oil is involved. A touch of olive oil, some pepper, cayenne, and quite a fair amount of mineral salt of your choice gives them just the right flavor. once in a while, i will also add half a teaspoon of liquid smoke. Then, all you have to do is saute them until they begin to crisp and blacken a bit. Then, you have yourself a tasty, healthy alternative to french fries!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page