top of page

Let's Talk Banned Books # 3

I know you all love these posts, so I thought I would kick off the revival of this blog with another one. This one is all about beloved children's books and why they were banned. i have read all three of these, and I believe most of you will have at least read one of them. They are part of childhood, and it has been hard to understand why everyone does not share my love for such works of fiction.

The Lorax

Yes, that's right, the beloved Dr. Seuss book that revolves around a mythical creature that is meant to save animals and plants from the harm of human development was banned. It might shock you even more to find out that it was ALLOWED to be banned for the specific reason it was, considering the message the book sent. Th logging industry was actually where the complaint came from. Naturally, they believed it gave the industry a bad name. However, we all knew there was a reason for that. Especially at the time this book came out, due care was not being taken to protect fragile ecosystems or replant trees the same way we have protections now.

Charlotte's Web

Like many other 90's children, I recall reading Charlotte's Web with my classroom, in elementary school. We all know the story is very sad. If given a choice, knowing that the tragedy in the story happens, of course I would not have wanted to read it. The same went for some other sad books we were forced to sit through as a part of curriculum. However, beyond a few tears for an old spider, what harm could this book cause? Well, part of the problem was in the scene with Charlotte dying. Many felt it was an inappropriate subject matter for children to deal with. I don't want my child to have to deal with the subject of death either, but I cannot save her form it if it happens to someone in her life younger than I expected. Besides, this is the death of a spider, not a human. I could not think of a more appropriate way to broach the subject. The second issue came with the fact that the animals can speak. Apparently, this is blasphemous. Might as well throw out most kids' books then, huh?

Harriet the Spy

This one may be more rare and was not talked about in school. I actually discovered it when the movie of the same name came out. I LOVED it. There was a lesson to be learned about lying, how to treat people you love, and sacrificing the wrong things to become popular or get what you want. For older children, this is an invaluable lesson. However, these themes were what set parents and educators off when ti came to this book. Many felt that the book actually encouraged children to lie, curse, and spy on people. In reality, Harriet faces consequences for her actions that no child would want to face. I was pretty sure the point was to discourage these things.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page