top of page

An Author to Brag On!

Okay, so as an author myself, it impresses me when another author, a new one at that, gets me so hooked to a book that i read it in 24 hours. This just happened with a book by Jennifer Preuss, and I want to share it with you guys. It is life. It is a memoir that focuses around Jennifer and her girlfriends. It's fun, emotional, and real. It will leave you wanting to know her and her friends personally. Please, check it out! The photo links right to the Amazon buy page. Also, check out the interview I had the pleasure of doing with her!

What made you decide to start writing?

I never thought of myself as a writer. I was an actor, a stand-up comic, singer, teacher, but not a writer. It wasn’t until I had an idea for a TV show based on the girls from a reoccurring dream I have and started pitching it around LA. I got the same reaction, “Great story, but you’re no one. Go try and write something.” I was going to give up. I mean, I wasn’t a writer. I could never do these stories justice. Then, my good friend Kelly talked me into trying to write a short story. After I emailed him one story he gave me notes and said, ”Try to show the story not tell the story.” I also went to a professional development on my summer vacation for how to teach writing workshop to elementary students. When the school year started, I was teaching mini lessons to my first graders on what writers do to write narratives. I then would go home at night and try some of the lessons out in my own writing. Before I knew it, I had 18 short stories written. It was exhilarating and therapeutic. I quickly realized no one else could have done these stories justice but me, because their my stories to share. I tried to write as if I was having a conversation with the reader.

There are a lot of memoirs out there for different reasons-what was it that made you specifically decide to tell THIS story?

I have always thought that you can’t make this stuff up. Don’t get me wrong I adore fiction. I read fiction stories most nights. I prefer it to watching television. Cecilia and I would sit around and talk about all the things that have happened to us and say, “People would never believe this stuff actually happened.” I think our stories are relatable to all women. We have such deep connections between us. There are stories about love and loss and all the in between amongst all people out there. I thought mostly, people could relate to our experiences and find comfort, humor, and validation that they too have important stories to share.

Are you currently working on anything new, or do you plan to in the future?

I do have a few ideas for my next project. I am putting all my effort into getting this book publicized for now. I still work as a teacher full time and have the kids so my writing time is limited. But I plan on getting started in the fall on my next book.

What does it feel like to share a piece of yourself with readers?

It’s terrifying. The night before we launched, I couldn’t sleep. What if people hated it? What if people think, “Who are you to write a memoir?” But I have to keep reminding myself that this book represents my love for my girlfriends. It’s my sonnet to them, memorializing our relationships to be around forever. So far the reception has been lovely and it warms my heart that people are relating and falling in love with these girls. God knows I love them with all my heart.

If you could give one piece of advice to aspiring writers out there, what would it be?

Only write stories that are yours to tell. The best stories come from the heart.

And just because it's always fun to lighten the mood...If you could redesign the food pyramid without any dire health consequences how would it look?

Well, carbs and protein would be the largest sections. I adore all things bread. I could eat sushi for the rest of my life and never get tired of it. I also love cheese. In general, if I could just eat larger quantities without gaining weight, that would be great.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page