top of page

Books That Should Be Movies

If I wasn't an avid reader, I probably would have no business attempting to be a successful writer. So, it has to be said I have come across some amazing books that have made my heart cry out for a film adaptation. It is so popular now to make a film based on a book, that I am still holding out hope that these personal favorites will finally see the dim light of a movie theatre.

The Pendragon Series by DJ McHale

This is a series I read around the same time I was reading the first couple of Harry Potter books. I always wanted to see it as a movie because it is still to this day the most imaginative book series I have ever read as far as the worlds that are visited. Think Star Wars meets Harry Potter meets Hunger Games. If you haven't read it, which I suspect, you need to get started. It will blow your mind. I AM glad it was not made into a movie when it first came out because the technology in film just wasn't there to create these amazing scenes. But it is there now. So, please, somebody get to work on this!

The Immortals Series by Alyson Noel

This series is very near and dear to my heart, and it might seem that way to you as well. I know that it has seen a lot of success, and I keep hoping to hear something from Alyson on this one. If you're looking for an epic, young romance that beats the qualms people have about Twilight, this is it. The characters are relatable and real, and the lore is even somewhat believable. This will have your heart racing and swelling from the first page to the last.

The Fallen Series by Lauren Kate

Yes, I did hear that Disney has this one, but I have been hearing this for years. I know a lot of these deals fall through. So, let's hope that 1. It doesn't fall through and 2. It is done better than some of the epic fails in recent book to movie history.

A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle

The first thing to note about this is that the first in the series was done as a mini series on television a while back. When I heard, I was so excited, but quickly felt sick as I watched my first glimpse of a bad adaptation of a book onto any screen. This book captures the fantasy in all young hearts, and you'll find few children who were reading in the 70s all the way through the early 2000s who hasn't read at least the first book in this series. Luckily for fans, it looks like this movie dream may be coming to fruition thanks to, you guessed it, Disney.

The Sword of Truth Series by Terry Goodkind

I have not read the books, but my husband has and has let me in on what happens after the events of the television series ended. You may know this one better because of the television series that was pretty popular on Sci-Fi known as The Seeker. I was epicly upset when the series ended because I was sure there had to be more. So, I am calling for the same cast to come back on for a film series that covers all the books please!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

bottom of page